Oatmeal Banana Nut Smoothie

A big warm bowl of oatmeal is one of my favourite things to have in the morning. I mean, who doesn’t want a snuggly cuddle to wake them up in the morning?

DSCN9835

Usually I’m not one to wanna eat uncooked oats, but the ever-popular overnight oats trend has warmed me up to the idea. So, when I saw JessBeautician (whose #veganjune videos I’m obsessed with) put oatmeal in her morning smoothie, I was quite intrigued. Luckily I hadn’t had breakfast before watching the video and gave the recipe a go right away, just changing up a few things!

If you’re down to try what’s basically a drinkable version of oatmeal (that tastes better than it may sound) give this recipe a try! The banana and oatmeal work great together once blended to give this smoothie that homey richness that I love about my regular breakfast oatmeal. This one’s just a little smoother and in a cup, but super filling nonetheless!

Ingredients:

1 cup of your choice of milk
1 banana
1/4 cup (or so) of oats + more for sprinkling
2 tbs chia seeds + more for sprinkling
1/2 a handful each of cashews and almonds
2 pitted dates
A pinch of pink Himalayan salt
A pinch of cinnamon

Directions: 

Blend all the ingredients until you reach your desired consistency — the more you blend, the less texture the oatmeal has. Pour in a glass and sprinkle on some oats and chia seeds for a little prettiness, and enjoy your breakfast! You’re ready and fueled for a productive day ahead!

DSCN9841

Let's Talk!

